The Arlington City Council is comprised of a Mayor and eight City Council members. Elections are conducted every spring in May.

Council Member Sheri Capehart District 2


Council Member Sheri Capehart District 2

Mayor Pro Tempore 

Elected May 2000
Re-elected May 2004
Term expires May 2018


District 2 boundaries are generally south of Interstate 20, west to the city limit at Kennedale, east to Matlock Road, and south to the city limit at Mansfield.  District 2 includes the major shopping district along Cooper Street; numerous parks including Harold Patterson Sports Complex and the award winning Tierra Verde Gold Course; three independent school districts (Arlington, Mansfield, & Kennedale); large wooded residential lots and developments.

Sheri is a fourth generation Texan and has lived in Arlington since 1973.  She and husband, Bruce, have four sons, all graduates of Arlington ISD.

Sheri’s compassion for children and animals led her to create the Animal Essay Contest, open to 3rd, 4th, 5th, and 6th grade students in Arlington.  The contest challenges the students to write essays that deal with topics of responsible pet ownership and has drawn over 10,000 entries since its inception in 2001.

Sheri was instrumental in championing the need for a new animal shelter and in 2008 Arlington opened a state of the art shelter that includes a veterinarian clinic, meet and greet rooms, an outside dog run, and a lobby that is welcoming.   Adjacent to the animal shelter is the Tails & Trails Dog Park, Arlington’s first dog park.  Sheri’s involvement in Tails and Trails began with the conceptual phase and she remained a steadfast advocate until the concept began reality.

Sheri retired from Lockheed Martin Grand Prairie in 2003 where she was a member of the PAC-3 Missile Program as a Computer Security Analyst.

Elected Office

    • Mayor Pro Tempore 2015 – present
    • Arlington City Council 2000-2003; 2004-present
    • Deputy Mayor Pro Tempore 2007-2008

Council Committees

    • Economic Development
    • Municipal Policy
    • (Past)Finance and Audit
    • (Past) Fiscal Policy
    • (Past) Community and Neighborhood Development
    • (Past) Regional Policy & Municipal Infrastructure Committee – Chair

Council Representation

    • Arlington Convention & Visitor’s Bureau Board of Directors 2011 – 2017
    • Arlington Housing Finance Corporation 2011 – 2017
    • Tax Increment Reinvestment Zones
    • Arlington Tomorrow Foundation 2006 – present, President  2007 – 2011
    • NCTCOG Executive Board 2009-2010
    • NCTCOG Regional Transportation Council 2005 – 2016
    • NCTCOG Transit Authority Partnership Subcommittee
    • NCTCOG Trinity River Steering Committee
    • NCTCOG West Fork Trinity Trails
    • Tarrant Regional Transportation Coalition
    • National League of Cities – Information Technology & Communications Steering Committee, Vice Chair – 2015, Chair – 2015 – present
    • National League of Cities – Board of Directors 2009 – 2011, 2015 – present
      • Board Finance Committee (Past)
      • International Council
      • Corporate Partners Board Liaison (Past)
      • Legislative Committee

Community Service

    • MISD Facilities & Growth Planning Committee 2016 – present
    • Arlington Life Shelter Advisory Board 2016 – present
    • Texas Christkindl Market Steering Committee
      • Texas Christkindl Market Innovation Committee 2015 – present
    • Arlington Community Health Council 2009 – 2012
    • JPS Health Network Committee on Services 2008 – 2012
    • Visions – Board of Directors 2003-2011
    • Mental Health Mental Retardation of Tarrant County – Board of Directors – 2003
    • Zoning Board of Adjustment 1993-2000; Chair 1996-2000
    • Citizens Bond Review Committee 1999
    • Bond Marketing Committee 1999


    • MPAC Arlington, Inc. – Founder
    • Republican Women of Arlington – 3rd Vice President 2003-2005
    • GIRLS, Inc. of Tarrant County – Advisory Board
    • GIRLS, Inc. Annual Luncheon and Fundraiser – Chair 2004
    • Arlington Area Newcomers & Friends – President 2002-2004
    • Advocates for Special People – Board of Directors
    • Neighborhood Women’s Association – Founder
    • League of Women Voters
    • Arlington Historical Society
    • Southwest Action Team 1999-2001
    • Leadership Arlington
    • Girl Scouts of America – Lifetime Member
    • Sister Cities of Arlington, Texas Committee


    • American Association of University Women –  Woman  of the Year  2016
    • Leadership Arlington Sally Kallam Award – 2009
    • MPAC Woman of the Year – 2005


    • Married – Husband, Bruce Capehart
    • Arlington Resident Since 1973
    • Fourth generation Texan
    • Computer Security Analyst, Lockheed Martin, Retired 2003
    • Phi Theta Kappa Honor Society– Tarrant County Junior College

Contact Your Council Member

Do you have questions or comments for your Council Member? First, check the Frequently Asked Questions page. If you don’t find an answer to your question, you are encouraged to contact your Council Member.