The Arlington City Council is comprised of a Mayor and eight City Council members. Elections are conducted every spring in May.

Council Member Kathryn Wilemon District 4

Council Member Kathryn Wilemon District 4

Elected May 2003
Term expires May 2019


Represents the portion of the city bounded primarily by I-20 on the south, portions of Matlock Road, Fielder Road and Bowen Road on the east, Lake Arlington on the west, and I-30 on the northeast. District 4 includes The Parks at Arlington Mall, a portion of the I-20 business corridor and the training facilities for the Police and Fire departments.

Kathryn, a resident of Arlington since 1950, graduated from Arlington High School and attended Arlington State College.  She went on to become a Trust Major Graduate from the Southwestern Graduate School of Banking at SMU.

After her career in banking, Kathryn became heavily involved in her community and the Arlington City Council. She served as the Mayor Pro Tempore from 2011 – 2015. Kathryn is a strong advocate for transportation in Arlington and the North Central Texas region as a whole.

Kathryn is a member of First Baptist Church.

Council Committees

    • Economic Development Committee
    • Transportation & Municipal Infrastructure

Council Representation

  • Arlington Tomorrow Foundation
  • North Central Texas Council of Governments, Executive Board, President  – 2014-2015
  • Regional Transportation Council
    • President 2013-2014
  • Tarrant Regional Transportation Coalition, Executive Board
  • National League of Cities
    • Transportation & Infrastructure Services Steering Committee
  • Texas Clean Air Cities Coalition
  • Texas Municipal League
    • Board of Directors
    • Transportation and Rights-of-Way Legislative Policy Committee, Chair
    • TML/TxDOT Working Group
    • Arlington Housing Finance Corporation
    • Gene & Jerry Jones Family Arlington Youth Foundation
    • North Central Texas Council of Governments, Board of Directors
    • Tax Increment Reinvestment Zone #6 Only

Community Service

    • Arlington Arts League
    • Arlington Civic League
    • Metroplex Women’s Clinic Advisory Board
    • Texas Nurse-Family Partnership, Statewide Leadership Board
    • UTA School of Social Work Advisory Council
    • WeCan (West Citizen Action Network)

Past Service

    • Tarrant County Hospital Board – 1987-1995
    • Interim Transit Authority 2002- Chairman
    • Cancer Research Foundation of N. Texas Auxiliary
    • Downtown Arlington, Inc. – Executive Committee
      • Member 1999-2002
    • Dental Health for Arlington – Board Member
    • West Sector Planning Committee – Member
    • Theatre Arlington –  Board Member
    • Arlington Symphony – Board Member

Contact Your Council Member

Do you have questions or comments for your Council Member? First, check the Frequently Asked Questions page. If you don’t find an answer to your question, you are encouraged to contact your Council Member.