The Arlington City Council is comprised of a Mayor and eight City Council members. Elections are conducted every spring in May.

Council Member Victoria Farrar-Myers District 7

Council Member Victoria Farrar-Myers District 7

Council Member Victoria Farrar-Myers District 7

Deputy Mayor Pro Tem
At Large

First Elected May 2016
Term expires May 2020


Represents the entire city.

Victoria Farrar-Myers first moved to Arlington in 1998, and has been actively engaged in our city ever since.  Dedicated to building communities, Victoria has held leadership positions in numerous volunteer organizations as well as served on the Planning & Zoning Commission and AISD’s Financial Futures Committee.

Known as “Doc F-M” to her students, Victoria served as a Professor of Political Science and Distinguished Teaching Professor at the University of Texas at Arlington for 16 years, and is a Senior Fellow in the Tower Center for Political Studies at SMU.  She received a Ph.D. from University at Albany, SUNY, a Masters degree from University of Illinois, and a Bachelors degree from Russell Sage College.

Victoria has been married to Jason since 1992, and they have one son.  They are members of St. Vincent de Paul Catholic Church.

Council Committees

    • Municipal Policy – Chair
    • Community and Neighborhood Development
    • (Past) Finance and Audit Development

Council Representation

    • Arlington Housing Finance Corporation
    • Great Southwest Industrial District Association Board
    • Tarrant County Homeless Coalition Continuum of Care
    • United Way – Arlington Steering Committee

Community Service – Current Boards & Activities

    • Leadership Arlington – Chair & President
    • The Rotary Club of Arlington
    • Junior League of Arlington – Sustaining Member; Former Parliamentarian
    • Center for Transforming Lives – Arlington Advisory Board
    • Vincent de Paul Catholic Church – Lector; Parish Council; Stewardship Committee
    • Conducts leadership training and strategic planning programs for non-profits, educational institutions, and volunteer organizations

Community Service – Past Organizations & Activities

    • City of Arlington Planning & Zoning Commission
    • AISD Financial Futures Committee
    • National Finalist, Citizen Service Before Self Honors, The Congressional Medal of Honor Foundation
    • Co-Founder & Inaugural Faculty-in-Residence, UT Arlington Center for Community Service Learning

Contact Your Council Member

Do you have questions or comments for your Council Member? First, check the Frequently Asked Questions page. If you don’t find an answer to your question, you are encouraged to contact your Council Member.