January 18-21,  2019. Advancing The Dream.
“Everybody can be great… Because anybody can serve.” – Dr. Martin Luther King Jr.

2008 Scholarship Recipients & Award Nominees

During the 19th Annual Arlington Martin Luther King Jr. Celebration, the Arlington community celebrated the life and legacy of Dr. Martin Luther King Jr.

The four-day celebration began with the “Sharing the Dream” Awards Banquet on Jan. 18 at UT-Arlington”s Bluebonnet Ballroom.

Representatives from the major sponsors of the Arlington Martin Luther King Jr. Celebration recently judged the Sharing the Dream Art Contest.

Arlington area students submitted more than 400 pieces of artwork. The theme was: Where do we go from here: Chaos or Community?

The judging occurred on November 5 in the Ousely Junior High School cafeteria. The First place winning art design will appear on T-shirts and publicity materials associated with the 2008 Arlington MLK Celebration.

All winning artwork will be on public display during the holiday weekend. Winners will be formally recognized at the Sharing the Dream Banquet on January 18, 2008.

Art Contest Winners

First Place – $1,000 U.S. Savings Bond
Garrett Lawrence, Lamar High School, Junior
View artwork

Second Place – $750 U.S. Savings Bond
Dallin Poole, Ferguson Junior High School, Seventh Grade
View artwork

Third Place – $500 U.S. Savings Bond
Megan K. Miller, Barnett Junior High School, Eighth Grade
View artwork

Essay Contest Winners

First Place – $1,000 U.S. Savings Bond
Tyler Marie Kiles, a senior at James W. Martin High School
Read the essay

Second Place – $750 U.S. Savings Bond
Priscilla Hor, a senior at James Bowie High School
Read the essay

Third Place – $500 U.S. Savings Bond
Nick Gallion, a senior at Arlington High School
Read the essay

More than 400 special guests attended.

Texas Rangers Manager Ron Washington inspired Arlingtons youth as the keynote banquet speaker. U.S. Savings Bonds and scholarships were presented to the student winners of the MLK “Sharing the Dream” art and essay competitions.

During the banquet, the 2008 MLK “Sharing the Dream” Award winners were announced.

This year, the Arlington MLK Committee was proud to present New Orleans’ jazz percussionist Adonis Rose and the Fort Worth Jazz Orchestra.

The banquet preceded four days of celebrations, which included a step show, multicultural festival, spoken word performances and worship service hosted at Arlington”s Cornerstone Baptist Church.

Other MLK events in Arlington included a financial planning workshop for youth and a holiday music/drama performance held on the official Dr. King holiday.

The Arlington MLK “Sharing the Dream” Celebration was organized in 1989 by representatives of the Arlington Independent School District, City of Arlington, Tarrant County College, Arlington Ministerial Association and University of Texas at Arlington.

Since 1989, supporters of the celebration have expanded to include the Arlington Star-Telegram, JP Morgan Chase, United States Postal Service, TXU Energy, and a growing list of local businesses, individuals and nonprofit organizations whose tax deductible contributions build the success of the celebration and fund college scholarships for deserving youth in the Arlington community.

In 2008, the Arlington MLK Celebration received a neighborhood matching grant from the Arlington Arts Alliance, and welcomed the following Gold sponsors: Citi and Community Financial Services Association of America.

“Sharing the Dream” Award Winners


Dr. Mac Bernd, AISD Superintendent 1998-2007


James Turner, City of Arlington
Parks and Recreation Department


Xi Theta Omega Chapter
Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority, Inc.