January 18-21,  2019. Advancing The Dream.
“Everybody can be great… Because anybody can serve.” – Dr. Martin Luther King Jr.

2017 Arlington MLK Advancing the Dream Awards Banquet

Click here to print flyer

MLK LogoFriday, January 13, 2017

6 p.m. PRE-BANQUET RECEPTION with Keynote Speaker  (Open to Banquet guests only)

Hosted by the Arlington MLK Celebration Committee, the Arlington Branch of the NAACP and Nu Pi Lambda Chapter of Alpha Phi Alpha Fraternity, Incorporated.

Bluebonnet Ballroom, UT Arlington
E.H. Hereford University Center
300 W. First St.
Arlington, TX 76010


Tickets: $45  –  Purchase at http://www.UTATickets.com

Complimentary valet

Seating of Guests:  Members of the Xi Theta Omega Chapter of Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority, Incorporated

About the Banquet

Meet our 2017 MLK Advancing the Dream Award Honorees and essay, art and collegiate scholarship recipients. Event also includes dinner, special tributes and musical performances with keynote speaker Dr. Cornell William Brooks.

Dr Cornell William Brooks

Dr. Cornell William Brooks

Dr. Cornell William Brooks is the president and CEO of the National Association for the Advancement of Colored People (NAACP), the nation’s oldest and largest grassroots-based civil rights organization. In 2014, he became the 18th member to serve as chief executive of an association whose members in the United States and worldwide are the premier advocates for civil rights in their communities.

Born in El Paso, Texas and raised in Georgetown, South Carolina, Dr. Brooks earned his Bachelor’s degree in political science from Jackson State University. He earned a Master of Divinity from the Boston University School of Theology where he was a MLK Scholar. He also holds a Juris Doctor degree from Yale Law School.

During his tenure as president and CEO of the NAACP, Dr. Brooks has passionately led the association’s Civil Rights agenda. He has organized the fight against voter suppression with victories in the courts. Under his leadership,  the NAACP has broadened, renewed and initiated new partnerships and coalitions.

During the Banquet, we will also salute the 2017 MLK Award nominees and honorees.

Community Nominees

  • Arlington Hispanic Citizens Police Alumni Association
  • Dr. Ebony Hall
  • Lille Madison

Education Nominees

  • Dr. William Marvin Dulaney
  • Linh Nguyen

Government Nominees

  • Police Chief Will Johnson
  • Officer Natalia Aumedes
  • Mayor Pro Tem Michael Glaspie
  • State Rep. Chris Turner

Winners will be announced at the banquet.

MLK About Photo 04

The Arlington MLK “Advancing the Dream” Banquet is made possible by the City of Arlington, UT Arlington,  Arlington Independent School District, Tarrant County College and the Arlington Ministerial Association with support from a host of community contributors.

For more information about the banquet, contact Lisa Thompson 817-272-9882 or lthompson@uta.edu.