Committed to providing quality customer service to all who appear in the court while diligently executing the administrative duties of the Municipal Court as set forth by law.

Request Driving Safety Course

Taking a Driving Safety Course (DSC) is an option that will keep your citation from being reported as a conviction on your driving record and will be dismissed if all terms required are successfully met. If any requirements are not met and you cannot provide a satisfactory reason why at a hearing before a judge, you will be found guilty and a conviction will be reported to the Texas Department of Public Safety. Not all violations are approved for a Driving Safety Course.

You may be eligible to take a Driving Safety Course to have your case dismissed. You may only take one course each year in the State of Texas to have a case dismissed.

Requirements to Request a Driving Safety Course

    • The court must receive your request by mail or in person to take the course no later than your 30 day appearance date
    • You must pay the court costs and an administrative fee. Presently, the administrative fee and court costs total $111.10. An additional fee of $25.00 is imposed if your citation occurred in a school zone
    • You must present a copy of a current Texas driver’s license
    • You must present current proof of insurance showing your name as a covered driver

Terms and Procedure

If eligible, and the above has been received, you will be required to submit to the court within 90 days:

    • The uniform certificate from an approved Texas Department of Licensing and Regulation (TDLR) driving safety course
    • A certified copy of your driving record from the Texas Department of Public Safety. A copy of your Driving Record must be requested from the Texas Department of Public Safety and costs $12.00.
      This form can be downloaded, printed and mailed to the DPS by clicking here.   Also, an online request can be made at dps.texas.gov.
    • A signed affidavit that will be mailed to you along with the date you are required to submit the proof

Note:  The Arlington Municipal Court is now accepting e-filed drivers safety completion certificates.   Course providers who are approved for e-filing will show e-filing options on their website. Some courses also offer the option to e-file your driving record.  If you choose not to use the e-filing option, you will need to provide your course completion form and your driving record to the court in person or thru the mail.  If you experience any issues with e-filing, please contact the course provider for assistance.

Non-Eligibility

You are not eligible to take a Driving Safety Course if:

    • Offense is not defined as a moving violation; or
    • You have a commercial driver’s license (CDL) even if the violation occurred while you were driving a private vehicle; or
    • You do not have a valid Texas driver’s license; or
    • You received a citation for not having current vehicle liability insurance and you do not provide a copy of current vehicle liability insurance; or
    • You were speeding 25 miles per hour or more over the speed limit; or
    • You received your citation as a result of Reckless Driving; or
    • You received your citation as a result of Passing a School Bus; or
    • You received your citation as a result of Fleeing/Eluding a Peace Officer; or
    • You received your citation as a result of Leaving the Scene of an Accident; or
    • You received your citation as a result of Fail to ID/ Render Aid; or
    • You have been approved for a Driving Safety Class in the State of Texas within the last 12 months; or
    • You have warrant(s) for your arrest

If you are not eligible for a Driving Safety Course you must enter your plea in person or by mail. If you enter your plea by mail you must use the back of the citation or write a letter including your plea and request.

Failure to Comply With Terms of Agreement

If you fail to comply with any of the requirements of the Driving Safety Course option, your case will be set for a Show Cause Hearing. The hearing is your opportunity to speak with a judge regarding why you failed to comply. If you fail to appear at your hearing, a conviction will be entered and reported to the Texas Department of Public Safety.

Not eligible for Defensive Driving?
Click here to see if you are eligible for Deferred Disposition.

REQUEST DEFENSIVE DRIVING

  • Was this Helpful ?
  • yes   no