Arlington ISD Teachers Honored for Excellence in Teaching


The Arlington Masonic Lodge honored several Arlington ISD teachers during a March 7 ceremony with “Teacher of Excellence” awards. The awards recognize teachers who take extra steps to encourage their students inside and outside of the classroom. Dr. Marcelo Cavazos, AISD Superintendent, served as keynote speaker. Arlington Mayor Robert Cluck also had an opportunity to address the crowd.

The overall Teacher of Excellence award went to Kristi John from Johns Elementary, who received a gift basket with cash and donations exceeding $1,000.

Laura Garcia of Kooken ES walked away with a special award featuring a gift basket, Certificate of Recognition and a “Lamar Medal” for her work with children with special needs & disabilities.

The following winners also received gift baskets with cash and donations from local businesses, each in excess of $750.

  • Lori Pitstick of Duff Elementary
  • Brynn Briscoe of Bryant Elementary
  • Keysha Waters of Rocquemore Elementary
  • Katherine Watkins of Miller Elementary
  • Cindy Murray of Beckham Elementary
Sort by:   newest | oldest | most voted
Demetrice Gammage

GREAT JOB to ALL! We need wonderful teachers from all aspects of life. Is it possible to know those in the pic?