Four Officers to be Honored With Star of Texas Awards for Bravery

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Four Arlington police officers were honored in Austin on September 11.

Texas Governor Greg Abbott presented Star of Texas Awards to Lieutenant Michael Moses, Corporal Elise Bowden and Officers Edward Johnston and Jason Heisel in a ceremony at the Texas House of Representatives Chamber.

The Star of Texas Award honors peace officers, firefighters and emergency medical first responders who are seriously injured or killed in the line of duty.

“Today, it is an honor to recognize 42 remarkable Texans, the very best of the Lone Star State,” Governor Abbott said.  “These are our Lone Star heroes.”

In 2004, Lt. Moses was a patrol officer preparing to exit his vehicle  during a traffic stop when a suspected drunk driver slammed into the back of his vehicle. His patrol car burst into flames. Off-duty police officers from Grand Prairie and Fort Worth pulled Officer Moses from the fire and wreckage and he suffered second-degree burns.

Corporal Bowden was seriously injured while conducting a traffic stop in February 2017. The motorist had a felony warrant and refused to exit the vehicle. He ran over Corporal Bowden while fleeing from the scene. Corporal Bowden suffered serious injuries and has returned to light duty.

Officer Eddie Johnston was shot while helping to serve a felony warrant for murder in April 2016. The suspect refused to exit the apartment and began firing, striking Officer Johnston in the leg. He was treated for his injury and has since returned to full duty.

In 2012, Officer Jason Heisel was in a vehicle pursuit with a drug suspect. On his motorcycle, the officer was following a patrol car, which was also in pursuit. The drug suspect’s car turned around at a dead end and Officer Heisel was forced off the road. The crash resulted in a serious leg injury. Officer Heisel recovered from his injuries and is assigned to  the APD Motors Unit.

Congratulations to our heroes!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *