Annual Awards Ceremony

The Arlington Police Department honored officers, professional staff employees, and business and community partners during the Annual Awards Ceremony held today at the Arlington Convention Center. Clarice Tinsley, anchor of KDFW Fox 4 News, was the emcee of the awards ceremony. Employees received awards in several categories including officer of the year in each patrol district,  specialized units, and overall officer of the year as well as supervisor of the year.

Police Chief Will Johnson spoke to the crowd of over 700 members of the department including family and friends. The department had several successes in 2018, including being awarded First Place in the nation for National Night Out activities. There were a total of 14 award recipients. “Each of these employees serve with distinction and honor,” said Police Chief Will Johnson. “We are extremely proud of their commitment and dedication to Arlington.”

The ceremony is made possible through the generous donations of the John V. & Jeri McMillan Memorial and Arlington Police Foundation. The department also receives generous contributions from other corporate sponsors. Photos from the event can be found on the department’s Twitter and Facebook social media platforms.

The list of winners include:

2018 Annual Award Recipients

Overall Employee of the Year – Officer Garth Savage
Supervisor of the Year – Sergeant Jennifer Rhodes
North District Officer of the Year – Officer Chris Abernathy
South District Officer of the Year – Officer Joe Bob Adkins
West District Officer of the Year – Corporal Foord Lyman
East District Officer of the Year – Corporal Leonard Lake
Detective of the Year – Detective Phillip Williams
Operations Officer of the Year – Officer David Martin
Community Support Officer of the Year – Officer Sheila Griffith
Rookie of the Year – Officer Suzanne Lasater
Professional Employee of the Year Technical/Exempt – Ed Hall
Professional Employee of the Year – Administrative – Irene Renteria
Citizen’s Community Award- Sue Phillips
Business Partnership Award – Old Tyme Barber Shop

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *